About Us

“Organized for the People, Owned by the People.”

Laurens Electric Cooperative is a member-owned rural electric cooperative in Upstate South Carolina. It was organized in May of 1939 by a group of citizens who were concerned that rural families were not receiving electricity because the power companies could not operate with a profit serving sparsely populated areas.


They sought to solve this problem by organizing their own non-profit institute with a goal of service to all people, regardless of class or creed. It was out of this effort that Laurens Electric Cooperative was born.

Laurens Electric Cooperative operates today with the same goals in mind. As a member of this cooperative, you belong to a unique organization. By being a member, you are part owner and you share in all profits above operating cost. These profits are returned each year in the form of capital credits.


Take pride in your membership and exercise your right of participation by attending your annual membership meeting which is held the first Saturday in June. This meeting is held to provide you with information on the operation and condition of your business, and to elect trustees.


Laurens Electric Cooperative serves more than 61,000 consumers in Laurens, Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Abbeville, Newberry, and Union counties.

Core Values










Ethical Behavior


Logos Through the Years

1950s - 1960s

1970s - 1980s

1990s - 2000s


1950s - 1960s

1970s - 1980s

1990s - 2000s


Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board

Charles Adair

District 2

Bill Hendrix

District 6

Eddie Abrams

Vice Chairman

Bill Hendrix

Distric 3

Jim L. Perry IV

District 7

Marcus E. Cook

Sec. Treasurer

Mitchell Powers

District 4

Charles Adair

District 8

Reid Fisher

District 1

Joe Nicholson

District 5


District 9

Mitchell Powers